A month of personal bests!

So it’s been 2 weeks since my last training update, and things are going great! Its been a couple of weeks of setting goals and absolutely smashing them. I’ve learnt to allow myself a rest day without feeling guilty about it and this has definitely been helping with my training sessions. I’m feeling strong and positive…there’s no stopping me!

I’ve been focusing a lot on my running and swimming recently. The dark nights still mean its a struggle to get on the bike and go for a ride. I’ve have had a very strong and successful couple of weeks at running club, albeit rather challenging. I suppose you could say I’ve been taking things easy on myself, only running around 4 miles max. Although that all changed earlier in the month when we set off on what I thought was a 4 miler, which turned into a 6.5 miler! I won’t lie, the last mile was tough and my legs were starting to feel it but I refused to give in. I pushed myself and I’m so glad I did, I haven’t ran that distance in a long time. I would never have ran that far if I went out on my own, there is no way I thought I would have been able to run it all without stopping…but I did πŸ™‚


After running 6.5 miles at a steady pace I moved up to the next speed group last week and headed out with the faster guys to see how I could cope with the pace and if I could keep up. It was tough going, I didn’t think I was going to be able to keep up at first, but, me being my usual stubborn self refused to fall behind and ran like my life depended on it, another 6.5 miles in the bag at a pace of 9.32. I felt it the next day and my knee was playing up a little, but that could be a combination of new trainers, more miles and a faster pace. Anyway, all my hard work paid off at this weeks Parkrun when I got another new PB of 26.38!! I literally could not believe it! To think that at the start of the year it was taking me more than 30 minutes to run 5k, I honestly couldn’t be happier. It is still a way to go to even get close to 22.32 again (my pace about 7 years ago), but I am much older now and my body has changed, I may not get back to that but I’m gonna give it a good go, after all, your own self doubt is your biggest enemy, and once you learn you can actually do this…anything is possible!


So in my previous blog post I explained how I hate swimming and that I faced one of my biggest fears and finally put my head in the water! I invested in some decent goggles and just did it. I was terrified, but I stuck with it and by the end of the week it wasn’t actually that scary. Well since then I have reached another milestone in my training journey….I finally attempted front crawl, yes, it was awful! I have struggled with my breathing and kept feeling really breathless. I noticed that I have had to take so many more rests than I usually do. I started off breathing every second stroke so that I wouldn’t feel as out of breath. After a couple of days doing this I found that I kept drifting and wasn’t swimming very straight. I slowed my pace right down and took my time with it, breathing every 3 strokes. I am only swimming 800 meters at the moment and by the end of the week I could manage just about half of that front crawl. It is a lot more tiring than breast stroke. I’m really proud that I have come so far with my swimming, I know I still have a way to go yet before I’m strong enough and ready for my open water swim in June, but every week I get stronger and manage to achieve another thing that I didn’t think I could do.

“When we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better too” – Paulo Coelho

Leave a Reply

